~~~ Texas Gardening Adventures ~~~

Vegetable Gardening in Hot, Dry Texas

What Is This Plant?

with 2 comments

I don’t know what this plant is.  It’s leaves are the spittin-image of giant ragweed, but this one is sprouting from a cut down, 6″ diameter tree stump.  Several of these shoots are growing out of the ground right next to the stump, as you can see.  I know giant ragweed has been described as a lot of biomass, but I think this is an actual tree, not just a weed.  These things grow all over the place – all very large, but I can’t say that I have actually seen a ‘tree’ of this leaf.  I will make a point of monitoring them this season to see if they ever develop a seed/flower head.

what is this plant?  friend or foe?

The closest tree that I could find with some what similar leaves is the sassafras tree.  I have lots of short plants that look like sasafras, but these leaves in question are different – they are leaner and have 5 lobes.

A mystery.  I do have regular ragweed sprouting all over bull-dozed areas.

Written by texasgardeningadventures

May 30, 2014 at 8:40 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am looking for the same thing. my leaves are not nearly that big ant it is in direct sunlight. if anyone knows what this is tell us please.

    Mike Mitchell

    June 14, 2014 at 2:32 pm


Leave a comment