~~~ Texas Gardening Adventures ~~~

Vegetable Gardening in Hot, Dry Texas

Sprouting Honeysuckle

leave a comment »

We cut down some little trees that had honeysuckle growing on them.  I decided to try to sprout the honeysuckle.  Some parts of the vines were woody and some parts were soft and green.  I sliced the vines into 6 to 8 inch sections, dipped them into rooting hormone and placed them into a deep starter tray with regular potting soil.  A bit over half of the cuttings look like they made it.  Neither of the woody pieces rooted.

And the roots:

honey suckle roots

I think that I’ll wait until next spring to plant these little plants in the wild.  Hopefully I’ll have my greenhouse moved over by then and I can leave them in it overwinter.  This is the first time that I have rooted honeysuckle and I’ll just have to see how it does.

 

Written by texasgardeningadventures

August 10, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Leave a comment